• Roscommon v Derry Hurling Div 2B


    Roscommon v Derry Hurling Div 2B

    • Mar 12,2017

    On Sunday Roscommon Hurlers travelled to Celtic Park in Derry looking for their first win in Division 2B of the Allianz League. The Rossies took to the field facing into a strong breeze. Derry got a dream start with points from Ciaran Steele and Eanna Cassidy and an opportunist goal from Aaron Kelly. This left the Rossies trailing by 1-02 after just three minutes. 

    Robbie Fallon got our first score from a free after seven minutes. Jonny Coyne got a good point from play on thirteen minutes. It was not until the last ten minutes of the first half before the Rossies settled with scores from Robbie Fallon two points and points from Cathal Kenny, Naos Connaughton and Cathal Kenny. The half time score was Roscommon 0-07 to 1-10 Derry. 

    Roscommon started the second half as they finished the first and narrowed the Derry lead with scores from Robbie Fallon two frees and points from Johnny Coyne, Adam Finnerty who scored a good point on his first touch of the ball after replacing Shane Curley and a long range point from Eamon Flanagan. Roscommon kept Derry to a single point for the first fifteen minutes of the second half. 

    Things were looking good until literally the wheels came off and Derry upped their game and completely outplayed Roscommon for the rest of the match. Finishing deserving winners with two well-taken goals from full forward and my man of the match Oisin Mc Closkey and Darragh Cartin. The final score was Derry 3-16 to 0-12 Roscommon.

    This was not the result  Roscommon was looking for as they travel to Ashbourne next Thursday to play Meath at 8 pm.

     Best for Roscommon were Padraig Kelly, Peter Kellehan and Robbie Fallon.

    Team. Jerry Fallon, Michael Beirne, David Loughnane, Alan Moore, Shane Curley, Eamon Flanagan (1pt),  Pat Nolan, Tomas Seale, Peter Kellaghan, Padraig Kelly, John Coyne (2pts), Jason Kilkenny,Cathal Kenny (2pts), Robbie Fallon (5pts 4 frees), Naos Connaughton (1pt),

    Subs, Cathal Dolan for Alan Moore, Adam Finnerty (1pt) for Shane Curley, Connor Coyle for Robbie Fallon, Eoghan Costello for Tomas Seale.