Success at Connacht GAA Scór Sinsir Final.

November 14th, 2023

St. Brigid’s Hall in Tubbercurry played host to the Connacht GAA Scór Sinsir Final 2023 on Saturday last. The cream of GAA talent from across the province gathered in the Sligo town to contest Connacht GAA’s cultural showpiece and earn the right to represent club and county in the All Ireland Scór Sinsir Final. 

The first event for decision was the Tráth na gCeisteanna Boird. After challenging rounds of questions, Bornacoola(Leitrim), Castlebar Mitchells (Mayo) and Kilglass Gaels (Roscommon) qualified from the preliminary table quiz at the expense of Caltra (Galway) and St. Molaise Gaels (Sligo). In the stage final, it was the Leitrim representatives who came out on top, with Mayo and Roscommon placing second and third respectively. 

Kilglass Gaels

The Rince Foirne competition saw teams from Aghamore(Mayo), Mohill (Leitrim) and St. Dominic’s (Roscommon), turn in graceful performances of their dances. However, it was the Leitrim standard bearers who took top honours and secured their place in the national final.

The Amhránaíocht Aonair event was hotly contested. John Butler (St. Mary’s, Leitrim), Christina Ralph (Castlebar, Mayo), Sarah Snee (Eastern Harps, Sligo), Orla Hession(Abbeyknockmoy) delivered great renditions of their songs. But it was Sarah Keane of St. Dominic’s, Roscommon, who won the hearts of the adjudicators with her performance. 

Sarah Keane – Elphin

In the Recitation/Storytelling, Aidan Dockery (Bornacoola, Leitrim), Patrick Mullooly (St. Dominics, Roscommon), Saoirse White (Sligo) challenged strongly before giving way to Mayo champion, Kevin Henry (Ballyhaunis). His delivery proved very popular with the large crowd, securing Mayo’s only win of the night. 

In the Ballad Group competition, Abbeyknockmoy gave a spellbinding performance on route to winning the coveted provincial crown. In doing so they overcame the gallant efforts of Bornacoola (Leitrim) Padraig Pearses (Roscommon) and Ballyhaunis (Mayo). 

In the Novelty Act competition, the challenge of Kilfian(Mayo) and Abbeyknockmoy (Galway) gave way to Elphin of Roscommon. The Roscommon actors entertainedthe audience with their humorous take on the Irish Dancing Feis and in doing they secured their club’s second title of the night. 

Elphin GAA

The Ceol Uirlise, while short on entries, delivered some of the evening’s highest standard in competition. Elphin and Abbeyknockmoy both gave fantastic performances of their tunes. But it was the top class delivery of the Galway group, who impressed the adjudicators. 

Abbeyknockmoy finished off a hugely successful night with a win in the Rince Seit, ensuring a hat trick of titles for the East Galway club. Pitted against were St. Dominic’s (Roscommon) and Sean Ó’Heslin’s of Leitrim. The Galway champions delivered a rousing performance of the Longford Set. 

A huge well done to all the competitors who represented their clubs and counties on Saturday. A massive word of thank you to the committee of St. Brigid’s Hall for their assistance and help to ensure the event ran smoothly. A word of appreciation also to our wonderful Bean an Tí, Aoife Ní Chonghaile, who kept proceedings efficiently moving and to our Quiz Master, Eamonn Brennan and adjudicators for their diligent services. 

The All Ireland Scór Sinsi Final will be held in the INEC Killarney on Saturday 18th November. This is an all ticket event and tickets are available to purchase via the link below.

Skip to content