Heartbreak for St. Brigid’s

January 22nd, 2024

AIB All-Ireland Club SFC Final

Glen 2-10 St Brigid’s 1-12

By Cian O’Connell at Croke Park

Ultimately, Glen’s passion and perseverance was rewarded.

In the closing stages of a lively battle, Glen eventually fended off St Brigid’s gutsy challenge.

A brilliant burst, yielding 1-3 without reply late on, ensured Glen triumphed at the end of a hard fought encounter.

Glen had squandered so many scoring opportunities in the second half, but Malachy O’Rourke’s charges still found a way. Defiant and determined, Glen prevailed despite the fact that they only landed one point from 12 shots in the 17 minutes after the interval.

In that spell Brian Derwin had palmed a tonic goal for Brigid’s, who subsequently led by four with only four minutes remaining.

Glen, though, were industrious. Michael Warnock rifled over an inspirational point before Conor Glass’ blistering and match altering goal. Conleth McGuckian’s quick free was gathered by Glass, who made the Brigid’s net dance.

Suddenly the teams were level. Glen had generated momentum with Emmett Bradley clipping a free before Conleth McGuckian added a point.

Now Glen had a 2-10 to 1-11 advantage. Shane Cunnane narrowed the gap to the minimum from a free. Brigid’s went on one last rally, but Cunnane couldn’t convert a long range free, and the Glen flag was perched on the summit of club football.

Following last year’s narrow defeat to Kilmacud Crokes, Glen just kept on believing. Derry, Ulster, and All-Ireland glory has followed.

Ruaidhrí Fallon, St Brigid's, and Michael Warnock, Glen, in action at Croke Park.  Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile

Ruaidhrí Fallon, St Brigid’s, and Michael Warnock, Glen, in action at Croke Park.  Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile

Initially Glen were in plenty of bother. Brigid’s, prompted by the splendid Ben O’Carroll inside, had accumulated a 0-8 to 0-4 advantage by the 28th minute.

Ruaidhrí Fallon thundered forward impressively, while Ciarán Sugrue and Eddie Nolan also contributed important scores.

Before the break Glen responded. Jody McDermott’s goal supplied an injection of hope and Ethan Doherty’s point ensured the teams were deadlocked at the turnaround, 1-5 to 0-8.

The game continued at a decent clip. O’Carroll’s gorgeous assist enabled Derwin to palm a goal. Derwin kicked a delightful, outside of the right boot point to edge Brigid’s, 1-9 to 1-5 clear.

Glen weren’t clinical in the third quarter with Brigid’s 1-11 to 1-7 ahead late on.

Despite being under duress, Glen simply found a way to survive, and Glass’ goal was significant. When it mattered most, Glen thrived.

Scorers for Glen: Conor Glass 1-2 (1 45), Emmett Bradley 0-4 (3fs), Jody McDermott 1-0, Michael Warnock, Ciarán McFaul, Ethan Doherty, and Conleth McGuckian 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Brigid’s: Brian Derwin 1-1, Ben O’Carroll 0-3 (2fs, 1m), Ruaidhrí Fallon and Eddie Nolan 0-2 each, Brian Stack, Ciarán Sugrue, Bobby Nugent, and Shane Cunnane (f) 0-1 each.

Glen: Connlan Bradley; Ryan Dougan, Michael Warnock, Connor Carville; Eunan Mulholland, Ciarán McFaul, Cathal Mulholland; Conor Glass, Emmett Bradley; Jody McDermott, Alex Doherty, Ethan Doherty; Conleth McGuckian, Danny Tallon, Tiarnan Flanagan.

Subs: Conor Convery for E Mulholland (25), Stevie O’Hara for Carville (44), Cahir McCabe for A Doherty (55).

St Brigid’s: Cormac Sheehy; Robbie Dolan, Brian Stack, Pearse Frost; Ruaidhrí Fallon, Alan Daly, Ronan Stack; Eddie Nolan, Shane Cunnane; Bobby Nugent, Paul McGrath, Conor Hand; Ciarán Sugrue, Ben O’Carroll, Brian Derwin.

Subs: John Cunningham for B Derwin (45), Conor Gleeson for B Nugent (55).

Referee: Brendan Cawley (Kildare).

Skip to content